Chief Electoral Officer, David Gray, calls By-Election for Thompson Region

May 11, 2017





Manitoba Metis Federation Inc.
Office of the Chief Electoral Officer


As the Chief Electoral Office (CEO) appointed by the Board of Directors of the MMF Inc., I hereby announce the calling of the Thompson by-election for 2017.

Any member of the Federation, 18 years of age or older, whose name appears on the List of Electors for a local within the Thompson Region on file at the MMF Head Office may vote in this by-election. A member may only vote in the Region in which the Local he/she is a member is located.

An Advance Poll will take place for those who wish to vote prior to Election Day. The Advance poll will be held at Ma-Mow-We-Tak Friendship Centre located at 4 Nelson Road in Thompson MB.


Friday, June 9, 2017 from 8:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Saturday, June 10, 2017 from 3:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Poll stations for Election Day will be established in such locations as may be determined.


Thursday, June 15, 2017 - 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.

DOWNLOAD Remote Ballot Application Form


Nominations are now open for the position of Board Member for the Thompson Region.

To stand for election, a member must submit a Nomination Form, signed by at least twenty (20) members whose names appear on a list of electors for the Thompson Region, and the candidate must sign, accepting the nomination. The completed form must be sent to and received by the CEO, by post marked mail or by fax, by 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, May 25, 2017.

Within seven (7) days from the close of nominations, any elector may submit a written challenge with necessary documents or other material that support the challenge to the right of a candidate to run for the office to which he/she has been nominated.

DOWNLOAD Nomination Form


Thursday, May 25, 2017


The MMF Inc. Election By-Law Article V, One (1), provides that the Preliminary List of Electors shall be distributed by the MMF Head Office within three (3) days of the CEO announcing the date of election. The Region shall post the Preliminary List of Electors at their Regional Office and shall within two (2) days of receipt and send a copy to each Local within their Region.

Members shall have twenty-one (21) days from the date of this Notice, May 11, 2017, to apply to be added to the Preliminary List of Electors if they have been omitted and to challenge and seek to remove the name of any person they believe should not be on the List of Electors. Only electors from the Thompson Region  may only challenge a candidate for this by-election. Challenges if any, are to be sent to the address noted below. Written challenges will be accepted up to and including Thursday, June 1, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. Evidence to support a challenge must be provided. The acceptance or rejection of each challenge will be completed within seven (7) days of receiving the challenge. When the challenges have been completed, the CEO will forward the Final List of Electors, the Rules for voting in person and the location of the Polls that are established.

DOWNLOAD Challenge to Voter on Electoral List Form 

David Gray
Chief Electoral Officer

Mail: Box 1178 Swan River, Manitoba, R0L 1Z0

Phone: 204-281-2274
Fax: 204-734-6359


Read More News