MMF Announces New Cabinet at First Caucus Meeting of the New Term

July 16, 2018

MMF Announces New Cabinet at First Caucus Meeting of the New Term

WINNIPEG, MB  On July 14 and 15, the Manitoba Metis Federation (“MMF”) held its first Caucus Meeting since new and returning leadership was elected in May. At the meeting, MMF President David Chartrand announced a cabinet shuffle among his ministers.

“You have been given an honoured position within our Nation,” said President Chartrand. “The direction that I have taken is carefully thought out and well designed. We have the right people to take charge. Together we will continue to build the future of our Nation.”

In addition to ministerial changes, the MMF has made two key portfolio changes. The previous Culture, Heritage, Sports & Youth portfolio has been separated into two separate portfolios of Culture & Heritage; and Sports & Youth. A brand new French Language portfolio has also been established. The French Language portfolio leadership and new bilingual staff will help the MMF to better serve the needs of French-speaking Métis Citizens in Manitoba. 


Believe in Yourself; Believe in Métis.
The Manitoba Metis Federation (MMF) is the official democratic and self-governing political representative for the Métis Nation’s Manitoba Métis Community. The Manitoba Métis are Canada’s Negotiating Partner in Confederation and the Founders of the Province of Manitoba.

For media information, please contact:                                            
Barney Morin
Communications Coordinator
Manitoba Metis Federation
Phone: (204) 586-8474 ext. 277
Cell: (204) 391-0717


MMF 2018 Cabinet Portfolios:


Energy & Infrastructure:

Minister: Jack Park


Metis Child & Family Services

Minister: Mona Buors

Associate Minister: JoAnne Remillard


Natural Resources / Citizenship

Minister: Leah LaPlante

Associate Minister: Shawn Nault


Provincial Education

Minister: Joan Ledoux

Associate Minister: David Beaudin


Economic Development

Minister: David Chartrand


Housing & Property Management

Minister: Will Goodon



Minister: John Parenteau


Constitution, Metis Rights & Metis Nation Agenda/ Governance

Minister: Judy Mayer



Minister: Julyda Lagimodiere


Sports & Youth

Minister: Richard Genaille


Heritage & Culture

Minister: Alfred Anderson


Agriculture / French Languages

Minister: Jean Desrosiers


Health / Early Learning Child Care

Minister: Frances Chartrand


Michif Languages / Residential Schools / Riel House / Pemmican Publications / Metis Community Liaison Department

Minister: Andrew Carrier


Environment & Mining

Minister: Vincent Parenteau

Associate Minister: Mildred Dorion


Finance & Human Resources

Minister: Anita Campbell


Land Claims

Minister: David Chartrand

Associate Minister: Denise Thomas


Tripartite Self-Government Negotiations/Sixties Scoop/ Duty to Consult

Minister: Denise Thomas


  • Children, Youth & Families

            Associate Minister: Mona Buors

  • Education & Training

            Associate Minister: Joan Ledoux

  • Housing

            Associate Minister: Will Goodon

  • Governance

            Associate Minister: Judy Mayer

  • Natural Resources & Citizenship

            Associate Minister: Shawn Nault


Metis Employment & Training (MET)

Minister: John Fleury

Associate Minister: Joan Ledoux


Executive Committee of Cabinet

Minister: David Chartrand

Anita Campbell

Leah LaPlante

Jack Park

Denise Thomas

Frances Chartrand

Will Goodon


Provincial HRD Committee

Minister: David Chartrand

Jack Park

John Fleury

Jean Desrosiers

Anita Campbell

Joan Ledoux


Metis Economic Development Trust

Minister: Anita Campbell

Minister: Jack Park

Minister: Andrew Carrier

Minister: Leah LaPlante


Louis Riel Capital Corporation

Minister: Anita Campbell

Minister: Jack Park

Minister: Leah LaPlante

Jim Bruce

Gerald Barron


MNC Alternate to the President

Minister: Denise Thomas

Read More News