Departments, Portfolios & Affiliates

Certain issues are of great importance to the Métis people of Manitoba and require additional attention. This dedicated and focused attention is accomplished through the Manitoba Métis Federation's portfolio structure. There are two types of portfolios: those that are supported by a department and those that exist in policy only.

The types of portfolios that are developed and maintained by the Federation are determined by the Métis people. Through their representatives, members communicate to the Board of Directors which issues are important and require a specialized focus. For example, the Federation recently established two new portfolios in response to member concerns. The Manitoba Hydro and Environment portfolios deal with issues surrounding proposed hydro developments and the preservation of our natural resources.

Below are a list of current MMF portfolios and the executives dedicated to each.


Minister: David Beaudin


Minister: Leah LaPlante

Constitution, Métis Rights,
Métis Nation Agenda
& Governance

Minister: Judy Mayer

Culture & Heritage

Minister: Alfred Anderson

Economic Development

Minister: President David Chartrand

Energy and Infrastructure

Minister: Jack Park

Environment & Climate Change

Minister: JoAnne Remillard
Associate Minister: Peter Fleming

Finance & Human Resources

Minister: Anita Campbell

Métis Child & Family Services

Minister: Mona Buors

Métis Community Liaison Department, Residential & Day Schools

Minister: Andrew Carrier

Métis Employment & Training (MET)

Minister: John Fleury
Associate Minister: Joan Ledoux


Minister: Vincent Parenteau
Associate Minister: Mildred Dorion

Natural Resources

Minister: Leah LaPlante
Associate Minister: Peter Fleming

Pemmican Publications

Minister: Julyda Lagimodiere

Provincial Education

Minister: Joan Ledoux
Associate Minister: David Beaudin

French and Michif Language Protection

Minister: Andrew Carrier
Associate Minister: Marielle Gauthier

Health & Early Learning Child Care

Minister: Frances Chartrand

Housing & Property Management

Minister: Will Goodon

Infinity Women Secretariat

Spokeswoman: Anita Campbell


Minister: Julyda Lagimodiere

Land Claims

Minister: David Chartrand
Associate Minister: Denise Thomas

Louis Riel Capital Corporation

Minister: Anita Campbell
Minister: Jack Park
Minister: Leah LaPlante

Provincial HRD Committee

Minister: Jack Park
Minister: John Fleury
Minister: Anita Campbell

Red River Métis Beyond Borders

Minister: Judy Mayer

Red River Métis Veterans

Minister: Shawn Nault

Riel House

Minister: Andrew Carrier
General Manager: Sharon Parenteau

Sports & Youth

Minister: Richard Genaille

Traditional Economies

Minister: Darrel Ferland

60's Scoop

Minister: Denise Thomas

B300-150 Henry Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3B 0J7

^ * ( &

Métis Nation Database
Unite Interactive