Government Structure

The Manitoba Métis Federation exists to represent and advance the interests of the Métis people of Manitoba. The Federation is organized and operated based on centralized democratic principles.


The President is the leader and spokesperson of the Federation. The President is elected in a province-wide election every four years and is responsible for overseeing the day-to-day operations of the Federation.


The Cabinet leads, manages, and guides the policies, objectives, and strategic direction of the Federation and its subsidiaries. Most importantly, all 23 Cabinet members are democratically elected by the Citizens.


The Manitoba Métis Federation is organized into seven regional associations or "Regions" throughout the province. Each region is administered by a vice-president and two executive officers, all of whom sit on the MMF's Caucus/Cabinet. These independent officers deliver programs and services to their specific geographic area.


Within each Region are various community-level "Locals" which are administered by a chairperson, a vice-chairperson, and a secretary-treasurer. A Local must have a minimum of nine members, also known as Citizens, and meet at least four times a year.

As a member, you belong to a Local.

All of the positions mentioned above are elected by Federation members in each designated Region or Local. Regional officers are elected every four years and Local representatives in a time determined by that specific Local.

To find out who are the current elected representatives in your Region or Local, visit the Regions and Locals pages.

Regions: /regional-offices
Locals: /Locals

Government Objectives

  1. To promote and instill pride in the history and culture of the Red RIver Métis.

  2. To educate Citizens, with respect to their legal, political, social and other rights.
  3. To promote the participation and representation of the Red River Métis in key political and economic bodies and organizations.
  4. To promote the political, legal, social and economic interests and rights of its members, also known as Citizens.
  5. To provide responsible and accountable governance on behalf of the Red River Métis community using the constitutional authorities delegated by its Citizens.

"The ability to decide for ourselves. To have power and authority over our future"
- David Chartrand, Manitoba Métis Federation President

B300-150 Henry Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3B 0J7

^ * ( &

Métis Nation Database
Unite Interactive